Call 24/7

844-I-CAN-WIN

Menu

Owvi Penalties For Detroit Metro Michigan

When you commit an Owvi offense in Michigan, you need to make sure you have good representation. Not getting good representation can lead to harsher penalties and even jail time for your first to third offense. Make sure you understand your rights and the penalties which could occur using our list of usual penalties for your first to third offense.

The Detroit area, has very strict Owvi penalties which are common throughout the metro area. We represent clients at the Law Office of Scott Aaronson using our knowledge and expertise. We’ll help you along the process and make sure you get the best representation when charged with an offense.

What does OWVI stand for? This has to do with impaired driving. It means driving while visible impaired. Basically, it must be proven that your ability to drive a motor vehicle in a safe manner was impaired by alcohol.

First Time Offense OWVI

  1. Up to 93 days in jail
  2. 90 days Restricted Driving (180 days if Impaired by Drugs)
  3. Up to $300 in fines, plus costs
  4. Up to 360 hours of Community Service
  5. 4 Points on your Driving Record
  6. $500 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 yearsowvi detroit lawyer

Second time offender OWVI all of the above, except:

  1. 4 Points (not 6) on your Driving Record
  2. $500 (not $1000) Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years.

Third time offender OWVI all of the above

  1. 4 Points (not 6) on your Driving Record
  2. $500 (not $1000) Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years

These three cases are what you’d most commonly expect with this sort of violation. Besides for our chart we also recommend checking out the Secretary of State Website. They have a very good breakdown of penalties.

Other alcohol offenses also include including Zero Tolerance. This is for anyone under the age of 21 who has a  breath test result of between .02 and .07.

Another common offense is having open intoxication in a motor vehicle.

No Comments

Leave a Comment